Vu Duc Huy's Oral History



Vu Duc Huy's Oral History


● Vu Duc Huy (pseudonym), 35 years old, Vietnam, Kinh ethnicity, no religion
● Moved from a rural area to Ho Chi Minh City at the end of February 2020 to earn money for supporting his wife and children, who still live in his hometown
● Had a restaurant in his hometown but needed to close it due to the lack of customers during the pandemic
● Working as a hawker, selling fruits on the street with a small motorbike, he is in good health
● Compulsory mask wearing
● He has a handy, connecting internet and tracing app implemented
● Travelled every day around the residential area and market for selling and earn-living
● Family members in good health and still stay in rural area in other province

Date Created

February 3, 2021

Language of interview



Biography 2-5, 14-16, 21 see also ‘Job’
-Living arrangements and expenses 2
Changes to daily routine
-Hygiene 23
-Space 2
-Work see ‘Job’
Comparison with other crises 16
Daily life necessities
-Food 9-10
Description of Covid-19 8-9
Financial impacts of Covid-19 10, 12-13, 17-18
Gender and Covid-19 22
Impacts on various groups 17-18, 20
-Migrants versus locals 22
Information sources on Covid-19 and related measures 7-9, 19
-Farming 17
-Restaurant in hometown 4, 6-8, 11, 16
-Street vendor 6-7, 12-15, 18-19
Response measures for Covid-19
-Assistance for Covid-19 relief 7, 19
-Consequences for breaking rules 15
-Government measures 10-11, 13
-Reactions to measures 15
Social media 21

Item sets

Vu Duc Huy's Oral History Vu Duc Huy's Oral History (translation)