Leakena's Oral History



Leakena's Oral History


• Leakena, 27, from Kandal Province, currently living in Phnom Penh, Cambodia
• A person with physical disabilities which is calcium deficiency in bones and polio, working in an organization for independent living of people with disabilities
• Received some material supports from NGOs and university students
• Acknowledged discrimination against Cambodian returned students and migrant workers
• Acknowledged that people with disabilities especially people with severe disabilities who need to sit on the wheelchair are the most vulnerable group who can be very susceptible to the Covid-19 disease.

Date Created

January 27, 2021

Language of interview



Biography 1, see also ‘Job’
Changes to daily routine
-Hygiene 4-5
-Travel routine 4
-Work see ‘Job’
Comparison with other crises 6, 10-11
Daily life necessities
-Difficulty in obtaining supplies 6
-Food 10
-Hand sanitiser 6
-Masks 6
Description of Covid-19 2-3
-Susceptibility of disabled individuals 11
Financial impacts of Covid-19 5-6
Information sources on Covid-19 and related measures 2-3, 7-8, 10
Job 1, 3
-Work from home 4, 7
Post Covid-19 hopes 12
Psychological impacts
-Boredom 7
-Neighbours’ fear of Covid-19 positive individuals 11
-Worry 7
Public transportation 4
Response measures for Covid-19
-Assistance for Covid-19 relief 10
-Breaking rules 7-8
-Consequences for breaking rules 8
-Government measures 3-4, 7
-Quarantine/self-isolation 11
-Reactions to measures
--Family and friends 9
--Personal 9
Social media 2, 8

Item sets

Leakena's Oral History Leakena's Oral History (translation)